Downsizing Where We Are Now!

Well downsizing and selling a house is not always easy. We have done the following as far as downsizing; first the garage sale. My daughter has graciously offered and has sold many of our things at the community garage sale. I don’t believe just giving away or just adding to the landfill is healthy. If there is use left in an item and if the item is in good shape chances are someone can use it. Second donate! We have donated items to local shelters and charities and the volunteers seem truly happy to receive the items. Now remember don’t donate trash that is rude in my opinion. Finally there items that are trash. Please take those to the trash. We have hauled well over 100 black industrial trash bags to the dump.

Here is the hard part things that we own become sentimental even the trash. I feel most of us develop a strange emotional attachment to our belongings. I have had to let go of blue jeans and sweaters that I have had since high school. Side note, I have been out of high school for almost 40 years.

Things to keep are heirlooms. For instance my mom and grandmother have given me things and I will keep them as reminders of them. Also I have begun to hand some of these things down to my daughters. This to is part of downsizing. When I visit them, I can visit some of my things that I have great emotional attachment to.

Kitchen items figure out what you use in your kitchen all of the time. If you are moving into a tiny house, like we are, will it fit in the smaller kitchen? We are now at the point where we have accomplished getting rid of half of our kitchen things. We decided that as we move into the tiny house we would only bring items in that we know we will use. This I feel will take great perseverance so that we do not bring in things that will clutter up the tiny kitchen. Remember even kitchen items can have emotional attachment.

Each room needs to be thought of in this way. Downsizing is stressful and emotional! The most fantastic thing about  downsizing is once you get over the emotional hurdle, that first trip to the landfill or donation location you start to feel a freedom that is very spiritual. I began to feel less claustrophobic and the house seems to be clean and spacious. Even if you stay in a large house letting go of stuff is freeing.

Here are some resources that could be helpful:

Moving On: A Practical Guide to Downsizing the Family Home by Linda Hetzer Janet Hulstrand  (Author), David McGrievey (Illustrator)

 

Don’t Toss My Memories in the Trash-A Step-by-Step Guide to Helping Seniors Downsize, Organize, and Move Paperback – January 2, 2007

There are a million articles, blogs, YouTube videos, and books on this subject so read and find the information you need and remember do what is best for your family and you.
Love an peace to all please feel free to comment.

 

